Lexy the Sexy Hexy

Hexapod Robots

Lexy the Sexy Hexy

Postby RiverRatDC » Sun Sep 06, 2009 6:52 pm

Meet Lexy the sexy hexy. Yes, another MSR-H01, but she's my MSR-H01! And beauty is certainly in the eye of the beholder.

Seriously though, my full compliments to the chef! I've been building various robots for over fifteen years and Matt, the design, fit, finish, and overall execution of this kit is the best I've experienced. The capabilitites of the finished product are simply stunning. The gaits and body articulations are totally natural and organic!

All the other robots gazing down from the shelves above are jealous. I hear them talking at night when I'm laying in bed. So far, no stray marks or cut wires on Lexy in the morning... :)

In completing the build, I lopped off about eight feet of servo wire and crimped on new pins and connector housings. As others have indicated, this greatly improves ongoing access to the HexEngine-SMB for continued tweaking and experimentation. It's a tedious job, but I think the results are worth the work. Also, after fitting the ESD200 Bluetooth module, I added two small SPST slide switches up under her shoulders. One switch opens and closes CN18-JP2 to permit the configuration terminal to be moved between the RS-232 and TTL serial ports without having to fish jumpers on the SMB. The second switch opens and closes JP1-2 to allow the ESD200 to be connected and disconnected from U1RX so the UART can be used for other purposes, again without fishing SMB jumpers. Also added a wireless PS2 controller. The native support for it in the HexEngine firmware is exceptional. I use 4600mah, 6V, subC NIMH battery packs genned up from Tenergy cells.